Video: This Year's Jimmy Awards Nominees Rehearse a Medley Including 'Great Expectations' From The Outsiders | Playbill

Education News Video: This Year's Jimmy Awards Nominees Rehearse a Medley Including 'Great Expectations' From The Outsiders

These talented young people will be performing at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre June 24.

The 2024 Jimmy Awards performers are in town! At rehearsals June 21, this year's Jimmy nominees gave Playbill a look at the medley that will open the 2024 Jimmy Awards—a medley that includes "Great Expectations" from Tony-winning Best Musical The Outsiders and "Our Time" from Tony-winning Best Revival of a Musical Merrily We Roll Along. Watch them perform in the video above and talk to Playbill's Jeffrey Vizcaíno about their Jimmys experience.

The event, which will take place at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre June 24, will feature individual and group performances from high school musical theatre performers all around the country. At that event, they will sing in front of a panel of Broadway professionals, who will then name a select few to be finalists and two to be Best Performance by an Actor and Actress. Josh Groban will be the host.

This year's ceremony will stream for free beginning at 7:30 PM via the Jimmy Awards official Facebook and YouTube channels. The stream will also be available on Playbill.

The Jimmy Awards honor the best in high school musical theatre performers from across the country, ultimately bestowing the title of Best Performance by an Actor and Actress to two students. Past winners include Andrew Barth Feldman and Renée Rapp.

READ: 15 Jimmy Award Alums Who Are Now Theatre Favorites

Presented by the Broadway League Foundation and named in honor of the late producer and theatre owner James M. Nederlander, the Jimmy Awards see nominees partaking in a week of events, workshops, and master classes with industry professionals. The week culminates in the ceremony itself, a performance held on a Broadway stage at which the nominees compete for the top titles.

This year's ceremony is being directed by Van Kaplan and will feature music supervision by Geoffrey Ko, choreography by Kiesha Lalama, and group direction and choreography by Luis Salgado.

The teachers of last year's winners will receive the Inspiring Teacher Award at this year's ceremony, with the honor going to Jacqueline McLean of Le Roy Jr. Sr. High School in Rochester, New York, and Paul Fillingim of Ronald Reagan High School in San Antonio, Texas.

The Jimmys are also welcoming two student reporters to NYC to cover the awards: Nicole Scimeca from Chicago, Illinois, and Richard "Ricky" Ragazzo from Houston, Texas. Both will get to visit WABC's studios to observe production of an upcoming news segment, along with covering The Jimmy Awards on social media.

In-person tickets for the ceremony are available at

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!